Chocolate Chip Pancakes {with a maple bacon adaptation}

Chocolate Chip Pancakes {with a maple bacon adaptation} by PamperedPaleoWaking up on the weekend, the first thing on my mind is always “what should I have for breakfast this morning?”and I won’t get out of bed until I’ve come to a decision. Just me? Didn’t think so! Today I wanted to switch up the 2 eggs, 2 pieces of bacon, and 1/4 of an avocado I’ve had everyday since I can remember. And then I thought of these amazing chocolate chip pancakes I used to make all the time before I did a 21 day sugar detox. Like seriously, before my detox every single breakfast was sweet. I had a problem to say the least. That problem hasn’t exactly been solved, but it’s been a while since I’ve given into my pancake and waffle cravings, and today was the day to give in. And I had even less ragrets than the thug off of We’re the Millers. These were heavenly to say the least, and I hope you can enjoy them as much as I did.

Please don’t judge my awkwardly shaped thumbs, I got them from my momma. But other than my thumbs, check out those bits of bacon. P.S. Sorry for the small, awful image quality. I didn’t have the patience to go get my camera to photograph these, I just wanted to eat my breakfast!!

Chocolate Chip Pancakes {with a maple bacon adaptation} by PamperedPaleo

Not gonna lie, I’m actually now having regrets…that I didn’t take pictures of these beautiful pancakes with my camera. Then we could all enjoy their perfection, but I guess you’ll just have to make them and see it for yourself. sigh, right? Ok, here’s your recipe already:

Chocolate Chip Pancakes {with a maple bacon adaptation}: 

serves 2-4

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup dairy free milk of choice (coconut, almond, and hemp have all turned out great for me!)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 Tablespoon honey (or maple to get even more of a maple flavor)
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour (this is my favorite brand and usually the cheapest)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • Optional (but not really optional):
  • Chocolate chips to preference (I usually use about 3 Tablespoons of Enjoy Life Mini Chocolate Chips)
  • 1-2 slices of bacon, ripped up into bits

Instructions:

  1. Whisk eggs in bowl then add milk, vanilla extract, and honey (or maple syrup).
  2. Add coconut flour, baking soda, and sea salt. Mix until smooth and let the batter sit for a few minutes so the coconut flour can absorb the liquid.
  3. Mix in your chocolate chips and/or your bacon bits
  4. Use an ice cream scoop or 1/4 cup measuring cup to pour batter onto a greased pan or electric skillet. When the pancake gets a tiny bit bubbly around the edges, it’s ready to flip. You kinda have to play around with when the pancake is ready to be flipped because it’s coconut flour, and it’s harder to tell.
  5. Top your pancakes with grass-fed butter, pure maple syrup, and bacon bits! (or nut butter, strawberries, coconut whip, etc., etc., etc.) and enjoy! :)

Leave a Reply

