Sweet & Spicy Pineapple BBQ Sauce

Sweet & Spicy Pineapple BBQ Sauce by PamperedPaleoI LOVE THIS RECIPE! I hate sounding overly confident in my recipe-creating abilities, but omg I really did something good with this one. I set out to make a Caribbean Jerk BBQ sauce to top my Caribbean Jerk Burgers with, and quite honestly I was not so sure of my capability to do so and do it well. After searching and searching for recipes I could use, I resorted to the idea that it would take just as long to create my own recipe as it would to find one that would suit what I was looking for. The result was this, and I’ve never been so happy about nailing a recipe.

 

Sweet & Spicy Pineapple BBQ Sauce by PamperedPaleo

Sweet & Spicy Pineapple BBQ Sauce:

servings: yields about 1 1/2 cups     prep time: 5 minutes     cook time: 1 hour     total time: 1 hour 5 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (15oz.) tomato sauce
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 cup water
  • 3/4 cup chunked pineapple with juice (fresh or canned works)
  • 2 tablespoons coconut aminos (or gluten free soy sauce)
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon cloves
  • 2 dashes allspice

Procedure:

  1. Mix all ingredients in a medium saucepan
  2. Place on medium-high and bring to a boil. Once boiling, turn down to medium-low and let simmer for one hour, or until the sauce reaches your desired thickness.
  3. Store in mason jar in fridge for up to two weeks.

2 thoughts on “Sweet & Spicy Pineapple BBQ Sauce

Leave a Reply

