Fiesta Roasted Chicken with Avocado Salsa

Fiesta Roasted Chicken with Avocado Salsa by PamperedPaleoI’m gonna make this post short and sweet because this week I’ll be guest posting over at Real Food With Dana while Dana’s in Italy (lucky her)! I’m going to share this recipe along with my paleo journey-to a certain extent.

I guess I’ll also use this post as a sort of apology, more to myself than toreaders, but I just hate that I can only post a recipe once every two weeks usually. Sometimes I get lucky and will have lots of spare time, but with being in volleyball right now, and undergoing one of the most stressful years of school yet, it’s kind of hard. Haha, and quite unfortunate because I love blogging, and I especially love creating recipes. However, I would never want to share extremely ugly photos with you (I know mine aren’t the greatest, but it’s a journey) or just decent recipes, so I have to spend what time I do have trying to make one quality post. It’s also frustrating because I have so many ideas! I have a note I keep on my phone with a list of recipe ideas that are absolutely out of this world, and I REALLY need to get caught up on them! But until that day comes, here’s an amazing chicken recipe-and not to mention easy-along with some delicious avocado salsa.

 

Fiesta Roasted Chicken:

serves: 2-5 depending on size of chicken     prep time: 5 minutes     cook time: 1 1/2 hours

For the Chicken:

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole chicken
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped in large chunks
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 Tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/2 Tablespoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (do 1 teaspoon if you prefer it more spicy)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Cilantro, for garnish

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F
  2. Mix chili powder, paprika, cumin, cayenne, and salt & pepper. Taste test to make sure the spice level is the way you want it. If you want it less spicy, add more paprika or chili powder. If you want it more spicy, add more cayenne.
  3. Place the chicken in a deep-dish roasting pan (I like this one and this one), and rub it with the spice blend.
  4. Top the chicken with the chopped onions and the minced garlic.
  5. Cover the pan with tin foil or a lid, and place in the oven for 1 1/2 hours. Check and make sure the chicken has aninternal temperature of 165°F and is fully cooked. If not, place back in the oven for up to 30 minutes.
  6. Let the chicken cool, and serve with avocado salsa (recipe below) and fresh cilantro.

Fiesta Roasted Chicken with Avocado Salsa by PamperedPaleo

 

Avocado Salsa:

serves: ∼4       prep time: 5 minutes       cook time: 0 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 avocados
  • 1 small onion
  • Juice from 2 limes
  • 2 Tablespoons cilantro, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cumin (optional)

Procedure:

  1. Dice the avocado and onion in about a centimeter-sized cubes. Mix together then squirt the juice from two limes over them.
  2. Add the cilantro, salt, and cumin, and stir until well combined.
  3. Serve on top of meats, or with chips, and enjoy!

Fiesta Roasted Chicken with Avocado Salsa by PamperedPaleo

Fiesta Roasted Chicken with Avocado Salsa by PamperedPaleo

Fiesta Roasted Chicken with Avocado Salsa by PamperedPaleo

One thought on “Fiesta Roasted Chicken with Avocado Salsa

  1. Looks great!! Can’t wait to have your guest post up when I leave :) The chicken looks beautiful, and so yummy! Love your photos. Funny I posted a whole roast chicken today too! Twins :) Keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

