Pumpkin Cake with Caramel Buttercream

Pumpkin Cake with Caramel Buttercream by PamperedPaleoFirst of all, I am so sorry for not posting a 6th day of Thanksgiving for you all yesterday. I was going to post this recipe, but by the time I had the final cake cooked it was already dark out. BUT that gave me extra time to experiment with even more recipes than I already had, and I made about 10 different frostings trying to find the right one. After decorating and eating this cake this morning, I’m sure that I totally nailed it because wow this is delicious. I know that this is one you’ll be able to share with the whole family, and they won’t even know that it’s gluten or dairy free. The frosting is just like any other amazing buttercream, and the cake is super moist and delicious. I hope you decide to make this a last minute addition to your Thanksgiving feast…you won’t regret it! Plus it’ll give the non-pie-lovers some variety. Sorry to break it to you all, but I am not the biggest pie fan. Unless it’s like oreo fluff or chocolate mousse, then count me in. But pumpkin pie? No thank you (but because I’m a firm believer in holiday traditions, I will be participating in some pie eating).

For the final day of Thanksgiving, this may sound sappy and dumb, but I am thankful for my dogs. In fact, Allie is currently cuddling up with me as I write this. Have you ever heard the fun little fact that hugging or petting a dog can relieve stress? Well I am definitely a believer in this. Even though my dogs frustrate me to the max sometimes, they can always calm me down, make me smile, and most of all put up with me (probably just because they have to). But without them, I would be so much more lonely and would never have a cuddle bug or someone to depend on me. I guess it’s just comforting (and yet evil) to know that no matter what, my dogs will be there…because they have to. Haha, I bet they love me though, too.

I hope you’ve had a thankful-filled week, and have made sure all your loved ones know how much you care about them! Don’t stop now–Thanksgiving shouldn’t be the only time of year you express gratitude. Be kind, love others, and don’t take what/whom you have for granted. I hope you all have a safe, delicious Thanksgiving weekend filled with friends, family, food, and shopping. Until next year, Thanksgiving.

xoxo,

PamperedPaleo

p.s. Please tell me you got that Gossip Girl reference. And also please tell me you’ll make a point to watch the Gossip Girl Thanksgiving episodes this weekend. No one does thankfulness like the Upper East Side.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Pumpkin Cake with Caramel Buttercream

serves: 8      prep time: 10 minutes      cook time: 55 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup blanched almond flour
  • 1/2 cup tapioca or arrowroot starch
  • 3/4 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon cloves
  • 2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup coconut milk (or dairy-free milk of choice)
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted plus more for greasing pan
  • 1 batch Caramel Buttercream Frosting
  • Candied Pecans

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF. Coat a springform pan or cake pan with coconut oil.
  2. In a bowl, whist together the almond flour, tapioca/arrowroot, coconut sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, baking soda, and salt. Optional step: Sift mixture into another bowl to aerate it. This will provide a smoother cake batter and fluffier cake.
  3. In the bowl of a kitchen stand mixer or separate bowl, combine all wet ingredients except the melted coconut oil. Mix with the whisk attachment on a kitchen stand mixer or use a hand mixer to combine ingredients. When completely mixed, add in the coconut oil at medium speed.
  4. Add the flour mixture to the wet mixture one cup at a time at medium speed until combined.
  5. Pour the batter into your greased pan and bake for 55 minutes, or until firm and brown on top.
  6. Remove from oven and let completely cool before frosting. This is very important because the frosting will melt if you don’t allow it to cool.
  7. Frost with Caramel Butter Cream and decorate with Candied Pecans.

Pumpkin Cake with Caramel Buttercream by PamperedPaleo

Leave a Reply

