Chocolate Eggnog Smoothie

Chocolate Eggnog Smoothie by PamperedPaleoHey guys!!! Sorry I’ve been MIA the last few weeks. I was going to do another week of recipes for Christmas and the holidays like I did for Thanksgiving, but I decided to just stick with family recipes/other people’s recipes and really enjoy myself during this season. Boy did I make a lot of cookies. And eat a lot of cookies. Okay don’t judge me, but I may have had cookies for breakfast, lunch, and/or dinner for like three days straight. Not healthy whatsoever. But that’s what the holidays are for, right? Plus I’ll be diving into my first Whole30 come January and I’m so excited to get back on track for good!! (I know I’ve been saying this a lot lately, but I have so much faith in the Whole30 and what it stands for that I know it will get me back to my good little paleo self).

I’ll touch base on the Whole30 later and probably write a post about it–and recipes, lots of recipes.

But in other news, I hope that everyone’s holiday season was wonderful (even though it’s not quite over yet)! I hope that you had amazing food (perhaps gluten and dairy? but if you had more self control than me, kudos to you) shared with loved ones over conversation and lots of laughs. That’s the real reason for the season along with recognizing and celebrating the birth and sacrifices of our savior Jesus Christ. But if we did happen to mention gifts, there is one I want to share about because it made me oh so excited! Okay, actually it wasn’t even my gift. I gave it to my mom, but it’s kiiinda my most favorite thing that was under the tree. We finally investing in a Vitamix, and I couldn’t be more excited! My mom & I have been dreaming of buying one for years, and I was so happy when I found it at Bed, Bath, & Beyond for such a steal (I think it ended up costing us $330 and it’s originally $500). I can’t explain how anxious I am to make soup and nut butter and everything I never could with a Ninja blender! So the first thing I created was this smoothie for you all! I’ll definitely be making this again along with a bunch of green smoothies, protein shakes, and milkshakes to share with you guys. Eek, I hope you’re as excited as I am! Plus this recipe uses all that leftover egg nog you might have in your fridge! I used Califa Farms’ Holiday Nog, but I love So Delicious’ Coconut Milk Nog too and am sure that would work! If you can’t find either of these at your grocer, feel free to use regular nog if you’d like or use this recipe from Ashley (My Heart Beets) to make your own! Whichever way you decide, I hope you enjoy this delicious milkshake/smoothie :)Chocolate Eggnog Smoothie by PamperedPaleo

Chocolate Eggnog Smoothie

serves: 1      prep time: 5 minutes        cook time: 0 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 handfuls ice
  • 1/2 cup egg nog (read above for details on what to buy or use)
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 Tablespoon cacao
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Procedure:

  1. Put all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth. Pour in glass and enjoy!

Chocolate Eggnog Smoothie by PamperedPaleo

Leave a Reply

