Salted Caramel Macaron Ice Cream Sandwiches {Triple Caramel Threat}

Salted Caramel Macaron Ice Cream SandwichHey guys! It’s been so long…like so long since I’ve last posted, and I’m super sorry about this. I could fill you in on every little detail of my life these past few months, but that’d be boring, so I’ll just sum it up into three words: it was busy.

I’m trying to really get my life together before I start my senior year of high school, and man it is stressful…I’m definitely not ready for the real world. However, I’m so excited for all of the new adventures that await me.

Step One to getting my life together (although none of these steps are chronological, but rather a large, chaotic, confusing cluster):

Pick a college…or rather, a few colleges. I love Boulder. so. much. I could definitely see myself living there like forever. There’s just really nothing greater than a healthy, happy, hippy community, is there? I could bike everywhere and eat at Blooming Beets every morning and omg!!! that’d be so fun. I’m also loving the idea of Stanford. If I can squeeze myself into their 5% acceptance rate, that is. But what if I just want to take a gap year to travel the world and learn a new language and hopefully figure this all out. Moral of the story: step one is not complete.

Step Two:

Get a job! Something not very time consuming, something I enjoy, something that pays better than minimum wage (I’m a smart girl, I gotta have standards, right?!) So I am a gymnastics instructor. lol @ that. I haven’t done gymnastics a day in my life. I can’t even do a cartwheel. I still love my job though! I just gotta play it cool when little toddlers tell me it’s my turn to do a cartwheel or backwards roll. Sorry, dude, it’s not happenin.

Step Three:

Stress less. I’m such a perfectionist, but I’m slowly learning to let go of my ways and just go with the flow. Life is so much easier that way and I’m so much happier as a result! Miss a workout? I’ll go harder tomorrow. Slip up and eat some not-so-healthy food? It’s okay to treat myself sometimes! By simply changing my mindset over the littlest things I can prevent myself from being super stressed out. I’m not saying I don’t push myself to do my best, I just don’t freak out when something isn’t done perfectly anymore. This has been a nice change.

Along with this junk, I’ve been sticking to my workout plan and trying to lose some weight that I gained this year, traveling, going to concerts, figuring out senior pictures, doing summer homework :(, and hanging out with friends. Hard life, right? Sorry for all the adults who no longer get carefree summers!

SORRY FOR MY RANT! It’s time to talk about food!

I LOVE ICE CREAM. You have no idea how much I love ice cream. If you follow me on Instagram, you probably noticed how my mom and I got ice cream EVERY single night of our vacation. That’s a lot of ice cream. I can now proudly say I know where the best cream in the western half of the U.S. is. Oh, so now you’re wondering? Little Man Ice Cream in Denver! It’s amazing. I don’t even know how they do it, but I wish I could eat it for every meal for the rest of my life. If you ever happen to make it there, you MUST try the salted oreo! You will not regret it.

Another thing I learned about ice cream during our trip is that salted caramel is like the best flavor of ice cream ever. Especially Talenti’s Salted Caramel Gelato OMG it’s frickin delicious. s/o to Juli Bauer from Paleomg for posting a pic of it on a brownie so I just had to buy it to try. My life is forever changed.

When a food impacts your life this much, you must recreate a recipe, right? So here we have it…paleo salted caramel gelato. But that’s not it, my friends, no…that is just the beginning. We’ve also got some creamy salted caramel topping and a decadent macaron to sandwich it in between. Your tastebuds can thank me later…you’re gonna love this.

Note: Each of these recipes can be made separately or all on the same day. (I recommend making the macarons and ice cream at least one day before you’d like to eat them).Macarons usually taste better after they have a few days to maturate, and they can last up to 5 days in the fridge or 3 months in the freezer. Homemade ice cream can last around 2 weeks. As for the caramel, you’re best of using it within the first few days of making it so that it doesn’t start to crystalize.Salted Caramel Macaron Ice Cream Sandwich by Pampered Paleo

Salted Caramel Macaron Ice Cream Sandwiches:

For the Macarons:

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cup organic powdered sugar
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • pinch salt
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon caramel extract (can also substitute vanilla extract)
  • optional: 2-3 drops of GEL food coloring (do not use liquid as it will mess up the texture)

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 300°F and prepare two baking sheets with silicon mats. If you do not have silicon mats, parchment paper will work fine.
  2. Blend powdered sugar and almond flour in a food processor (be sure not to do it to fast or it will create unwanted moisture and make the two stick together instead of a fine, dry powder) and sift through a sieve. Repeat.
  3. Beat egg whites, cream of tartar, and salt with a hand mixer or stand mixer on medium until frothy. Increase speed to medium high and slowly add the granulated sugar until stiff, shiny peaks form.
  4. Sift the almond flour mixture into the egg whites and gently fold the mixtures together with a rubber spatula until combined. Fold in the food coloring and extracts. This should take about 25-30 strokes total.
  5. Pour the batter into a pastry bag with a round tip. Pipe the batter into rounds on the baking sheet leaving an inch between each round.
  6. Let the cookies sit for about 15-30 minutes, or until they are no longer sticky to the touch, before putting them into the oven.
  7. Place in oven and bake for 10-12 minutes, turning the baking sheet around halfway through.
  8. Let the cookies cool completely before removing from the baking sheet.

For the Caramel Gelato:

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups full-fat coconut milk
  • 1 Tablespoon grass-fed gelatin
  • 1 cup coconut sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt (or more, to taste)

Procedure:

  1. Whisk all ingredients in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil over high heat.
  2. Once bubbling, remove from the heat and transfer to the fridge or freezer to cool completely. While you are waiting for the mixture to cool, make your caramel topping.
  3. When you remove the mixture from the fridge or freezer, it will be like jello squares. Put it into a blender and blend on high until it is more of a pudding or liquid-ey texture.
  4. Following the instructions on your ice cream maker, freeze the cream. Keep in the freezer for up to two weeks, or use in these ice cream sandwiches.

For the Caramel:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 cup full-fat coconut cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt (or more, to taste)

Procedure:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan and bring to a boil on medium heat. Let the mixture boil for 10-15 minutes until thick, but not solid.
  2. Remove from heat and let cool.
  3. Swirl half of the cooled caramel into the ice cream and use the other half for a topping in the macarons.

Salted Caramel Macaron Ice Cream Sandwiches by Pampered Paleo

5 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Macaron Ice Cream Sandwiches {Triple Caramel Threat}

Leave a Reply

