Pear Galette

Pear Galette by PamperedPaleoHey guys!! So you may have seen my picture on insta of ALL THOSE PEARS from my pear tree that’s just goin crazy! I am following through with my original plan and making a beautiful galette with them. Damn, these things are so pretty! I guess it makes up for the fact that they’re not chocolate. I’m not really a fan of fruity desserts…except for strawberry shortcake or berry cheesecake!!! OMG my mouth is watering just thinking about those. But, yeah, I’m really not a pie person. They’re pretty and they make your house smell great, but I’d much rather eat a nice brownie sundae. My mouth is watering again. However, I have to give these credit because they are so yummy and decadent! And as I mentioned before: pretty!! I have to eat these with a scoop of vanilla coconut milk ice cream on top…or maybe Talenti salted caramel gelato because I mean..c’mon it’s sooo good!Pear Galette by PamperedPaleo

I hope you enjoy these! I knowI sure did! :)

Pear Galette by PamperedPaleo Pear Galette by PamperedPaleo

Pear Galette:

serves: ∼8 people     prep time: 15 minutes     cook time: 35-45 minutes

Ingredients:

For the crust:

  • 1 1/3 cup tapioca flour/starch
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 6 Tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1 egg (or flax egg for vegan/egg free)
  • 1 Tablespoon honey, maple syrup, or coconut nectar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

For the filling:

  • 3 pears
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon, split in two
  • 1/4 cup coconut sugar
  • Optional: Caramel sauce, for drizzling on top after cooking (I highly recommend)

Procedure:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. Combine tapioca flour, coconut flour, salt, and xanthan gum.
  3. Fork in the coconut oil until it is evenly combined. Mix in the egg, honey, and vanilla and then start combining the pastry dough with your hands until you get it to be one big ball. Set it to the side while you get the filling ready.
  4. Core the pears and cut them into thin slices.
  5. Toss the pear slices with 1 Tablespoon coconut oil and 1/2 teaspoon of the cinnamon.
  6. Combine the remaining 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon with the coconut sugar and set aside.
  7. Place the ball of dough on the baking sheet. Press it out flat until it’s about 1/2 cm thick. Layer the pear slices on top starting from the edge and moving inward. Leave about an inch on the edge for the crust to fold over. When you have all the pear slices on, fold the edges of the crust over, and sprinkle the coconut sugar mixture on top. Note: it will seem like there is a lot of sugar on top, but it will melt into the pears and caramelize…just trust me & add it all.
  8. Place in the oven for 35-45 minutes, until the crust is flaky and golden. Enjoy with coconut whipped cream, homemade caramel, or coconut milk ice cream!

Leave a Reply

