Red Velvet Protein Balls

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Hey you! That’s my new thing…”you”…man, that sounds so creepy…I need to stop that. Okay hey! Now something’s missing.

UGH. Anyways…I’m currently stuck in the house with 6-7ft drifts of snow blocking off my driveway. SIX TO SEVEN FEET WHAT THE HECK. Any of you stuck in the house too?! If so, you probably understand my personal struggle of wanting to eat EVERYTHING. It’s even worse that I just baked all of my Valentine’s Day bakery treats and they’re just sitting in the fridge tempting me. And then I don’t feel like working out because I get all ADD at home when I’m trying to do a quick crossfit workout but in my head I’m really thinking of everything that needs to be cleaned. Okay, maybe that’s more OCD than anything…typical.

Regardless..this snow is killin’ me and now I’m short a day of Easter break when I wanted to go to Seattle. Bummer.

This year is just flyin’ by. Everyone tells you how your senior year of high school will be gone before you know it and you don’t believe them until it’s February and you get excited because you think Christmas is coming up and then you realize it already passed. You too? No, I’m just delusional? Okay…whatever.

And I’m not even sad that my last year in town is almost over; it couldn’t end any sooner! I am so over schoolwork and most of all stress. I think my biggest issue is that I have no idea where I’ll be next year. Right now I’m thinking NYU or CU Boulder, but those are two very different schools. And I don’t know how much student debt I’m going to be in. Oh, and please don’t remind me that I have 8-12 years of schooling left before I get my doctorate degree. Who knows…maybe I won’t get my doctorate degree. Maybe I’ll go through some big, life-changing experience in my early 20s and end up homeless in India. Who knows.

The only thing I know at this point is how freaking amazing these “red velvet” protein balls are. I ran out of regular cacao powder, so I used Cococardio which is actually a super amazing product that I should tell you more about! Cococardio can be used like regular cocoa or cacao powder, but it has additional benefits. It includes beet root powder for powerful antioxidants which also provide the red hue to the powder (thus why I call these red velvet). Along with beet root, it also has hibiscus extract which provides some other antioxidants that I truthfully know hardly anything about. The combination of these three heart-healthy plants provides great nutrition for your cardiovascular system, and so yeah…you should definitely purchase some Here(however, if you don’t, you can always make these with regular cacao powder!)

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Red Velvet Protein Balls:

serves: 3-4        time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

Procedure:

  1. Mix tapioca flour, coconut flour, cocoa powder, and protein powder together until evenly combined.
  2. Add vanilla, maple syrup, nut butter, and almond milk. Stir until evenly combined. You may have to use your hands to knead it together; the egg white protein powder becomes somewhat sticky.
  3. Stir in chocolate chips and roll into bite-sized balls.
  4. Enjoy!

*I have not tested this recipe with whey or any other kind of protein powder. I’m sure that it would work, but you may not need to use as much almond milk. Start with 1 Tablespoon and then work your way up if using another protein powder.

 

Leave a Reply

