Paleo BBQ Ribs

Paleo BBQ Ribs | Ellie Eats

Summer is just my favorite. Isn’t it everyone’s? The weather is nicer, we seem to have more free time, we get to swim and do all the fun stuff, our skin gets more beautiful, the sun gives our hair FREE highlighting. I could go on forever, but what I’m pretty much trying to say is that I love Summer, and I also love grilling, and Summer gives me the opportunity to grill so much more. So I made some ribs. Because I also love ribs. A LOT.

If I’m being totally honest, the whole summer mood hasn’t kicked in for me yet. I’m a kid; I’m used to not doing anything in the summer. That’s not the case this year :-(. I work 8-6 during the weekdays like  an adult because that’s what I’m becoming soon and I guess I should start adulting sometimes. It’s so hard. Not always but like 90% of the time.

I’m also trying to grow up in other ways too. Like getting ready for college. WHICH DID I TELL YOU ALL IT’S OFFICIAL THAT I’M GOING TO CU BOULDER IN THE FALL?!?! I am SO excited. And kind of sad…to leave my friends and family and everything I’ve known for the past 18 years. What people say about this stage of life is so true: it’s very bittersweet.

OKAY ENOUGH BITTERSWEETNESS AND SERIOUSNESS. UNLESS WE’RE TALKING ABOUT THESE RIBS. BECAUSE THEY ARE SERIOUSLY DELICIOUS. ENJOY.

Paleo BBQ Ribs | Ellie Eats

Paleo BBQ Ribs

yields: two racks of ribs          prep time: 10 minutes           cook time: 2 hours 10 minutes

Ingredients:

For the Ribs:

  • 2 racks of baby back ribs (about 6 pounds)
  • 3 Tablespoons salt
  • 2 Tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 Tablespoons coconut sugar or maple sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground mustard
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

For the BBQ:

  • ¾ cup ketchup (store bought such as Annie’s or Sir Kensington’s or homemade)
  • ¼ cup water
  • 2 Tablespoons coconut sugar or maple sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons honey
  • 1 Tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut aminos or gluten free soy sauce
  • 1 ½ teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • ¼  – ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper (depending on how spicy you want it)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F and line two cookie sheets with aluminum foil and also have another long piece of aluminum foil lying on top of that to wrap the ribs in later.
  2. Combine all of the ingredients for the ribs, except for the ribs, in a bowl.
  3. Prepare the ribs for the rub by cutting off the membrane on the underside of the ribs. You can do this by slicing the membrane away from the bone with a knife towards the end and pulling back the rest of the membrane.
  4. Place the ribs on the cookie sheets on top of a long piece of aluminum foil and coat them evenly with the seasoning. Wrap the ribs up with the aluminum foil once covered.
  5. Place the ribs in the oven for about 2 hours. While they are cooking, prepare the BBQ sauce.
  6. In a medium saucepan, whisk together all of the ingredients for the BBQ sauce and place over medium heat. Once the sauce starts to boil, turn the heat down to low and let simmer until reduced to a thicker sauce, about 20-30 minutes.
  7. Once the ribs are done, take them out of the oven and preheat the grill to medium heat. Place the ribs on the grill, meat side up, and coat with the BBQ sauce. Let them soak up the sauce for 5 to 10 minutes. Remove from the grill and enjoy!

Paleo BBQ Ribs | Ellie Eats

One thought on “Paleo BBQ Ribs

Leave a Reply

